EYFS Curriculum

In Nursery and Reception, we follow the Early Years Adopter schools: EYFS Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage, published in July 2020. This Framework specifies the requirement for learning and development in the Early Years and provides specific areas of learning we must cover in our curriculum.

These areas are:

  •  Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  •  Physical Development
  •  Communication and Language development
  •  Literacy
  •  Mathematics
  •  Understanding the World
  •  Expressive Arts and Design

A vital aspect in the development of essential knowledge and skills is the use of continuous provision. This means that children are using and developing certain skills throughout the year on a daily/weekly basis. Continuous Provision practice and principles begin in Early Years Foundation Stage and support children to develop key life skills such as independence; innovation; creativity, enquiry; analysis and problem solving.

We have worked hard to make sure the Continuous Provision practice feeds in to our Key Stage 1 Curriculum and links are made for our children and their learning from the start.